How do I get Kubernetes certified?

Kubernetes is a framework for running and coordinating containerized applications across a cluster of machines at its most basic level. Kubernetes Interview Questions It’s a platform that lets you manage the whole life cycle of containerized apps and services using methods that guarantee predictability, scalability, and high availability.

Kubernetes is Google’s open-source system for managing Linux containers across private, public, and hybrid cloud environments. Kubernetes automates the deployment, scaling, maintenance, scheduling, and operation of multiple application containers across clusters of nodes. 

Kubernetes provides interfaces and composable platform primitives for defining and managing applications with high flexibility, power, and dependability. As a Kubernetes user, you can specify how your applications should function and communicate with other apps and the rest of the world. To test features or roll back complex deployments, you can scale your services up or down, make smooth-rolling updates, and switch traffic between multiple versions of your apps.

What is Kubernetes certification? 

Any certification you earn is worth it because it adds credibility to your knowledge. Certificates prove that you gained hands-on experience on a particular technology and showed that you worked on various industry-standard projects, which assures the hiring personnel that you can hit the ground running as you know the domain.

Especially with Kubernetes, the industry is looking for professionals who have worked in the domain. That level of expertise only comes with doing industry-standard projects, which any good online Kubernetes certification-based training will provide.

Kubernetes certification will enhance your Kubernetes skills and give you credibility in the field while preparing for the CKA exam. All of this knowledge is the critical component of it all, so if you are at a starting point, start with the Simplilearn CKA certification training course.  

What are the Kubernetes certifications? 

Kubernetes certifications are founded and issued by Cloud Native Computing Foundation (CNCF) in collaboration with the Linux Foundation. There are three types of Kubernetes certification: Certified Kubernetes Administrator CKA and Certified Kubernetes Application developer (CKAD), and Certified Kubernetes Security specialist (CKS). 

Here, we will understand in-depth about each certification. 

  • Certified Kubernetes Administrator (CKA) 

Kubernetes Administrator is one of the highest-paid jobs. Certified Kubernetes Administrator (CKA) is one of the most important certificates for professionals who want to up their skills and career as Kubernetes Administrators. The CKA tests your ability and capability to deploy and configure your understanding of core concepts.

  • Certified Kubernetes Application developer (CKAD)

CKAD is about developing applications for Kubernetes. It holds the candidates to ensure their capability to calibrate the design, expose and configure the cloud-native applications for Kubernetes. CKAD developers focus on namespace resources and performance exercises. This test checks the candidate’s potential to deploy and configure their applications towards the Kubernetes cluster.

  • Certified Kubernetes Security specialist (CKS)

CKS program verifies the security knowledge for the best practices to secure applications on container-based. CKS aims for practical knowledge applied in the real world. This exam is the same as CKA, wherein the performance is judged on their test. An aspirant who wishes to join the CKS program is only eligible when they join CKA certification. 

The CKA exam is the most general of all three exams. It generates hand on questions, practical to be solved following Linux commands within a strict time limit of three hours. Candidates are examined based on their ability to design, build, manage and solve Kubernetes clusters for cloud-native applications. 

As a result, it covers almost everything with a thorough understanding of Kubernetes as a platform of open source. The practical knowledge of this course makes it more available for industries to build a chance to hire from Simplilearn online learning. 

The simple and easy way to pass the Kubernetes Administrator CKA exam is by writing practice exams. The practice exam will give you massive confidence for the main exam, and you can get the best practice exam.

If you plan to join the CKA certification course, think of Simplilearn online learning as a guaranteed placement with a fantastic mentoring service that guides you to every course path. 

Prerequisites you need to know before getting certified. 

  • Anyone can take the Kubernetes exam course but must include a strong understanding of containers, and Docker adds benefits to their resume. 
  • Our Docker Compose in-depth course from Simplilearn will help you understand in detail and learn. 
  • Working experience with Linux shells adds more benefits to the course, but as it is said, it is not mandatory. 

Besides this, there are more technical requirements that will be helpful to know: 

  • The exam of Kubernetes certifications will be taken from home itself, but you will be proctored. 
  • Read the exam tips carefully on their official website so that you don’t miss out on something. 
  • Candidates will have three hours to solve the paper for CKA and the remaining two papers just two hours, so in this case, practice will make them perfect and speedy. 
  • The exam costs vary from paper to paper; you need to check out, which is valid for three years. 
  • To be eligible for the placement process, you must get a 75% passing mark to obtain a Kubernetes certificate. 
  • If you fail once, you get a chance for one re-take. 

Being mentally prepared isn’t going to work, but physical preparation is also needed. Here are some topics that are covered in exams. 

The CKA exams test in the following areas

  • Application lifecycle management- 8%
  • Installation, configuration, validation- 12%
  • Core concepts with understanding- 19%
  • Networking- 11%
  • Scheduling- 5%
  • Security- 12%
  • Cluster maintenance- 11%
  • Logging/monitoring- 5%
  • Storage- 7%
  • Troubleshooting- 10%

The CKAD exams cover the following parts:

  • Core concepts- 13%
  • Configuration- 18%
  • Multi container- 10%
  • Observability- 18%
  • Pod design- 20%
  • Services & networking- 13%
  • State persistence- 8%  


Overall, these certifications were challenging, but they are entirely worth it. If you’re looking to prove your Kubernetes knowledge, start studying from the Simplilearn online Bootcamp, and good luck with your exam. 

The Kubernetes platform requires deep theoretical understanding and actual use in a production environment—passing the exam means you can be confident and get Kubernetes certified to apply that knowledge in a real-world scenario.